File:Lower Hutt, Un Dramatic Version.jpg

A good view of the eastern Hutt hills, looking south-east from Lower Hutt.


Lower Hutt (Maori: Awakairangi) is a city in the Wellington region of New Zealand. Its council has adopted the name Hutt City Council, but neither the New Zealand Geographic Board nor the Local Government Act recognise the name Hutt City. This alternative name can lead to confusion, as there are two cities in the Hutt Valley, Lower Hutt and Upper Hutt. The Upper Hutt City Council objects to the name of Hutt City. The former Hutt County included much of the area of both Upper Hutt and Lower Hutt.

Lower Hutt is in the Wellington Region. It is the tenth largest city in New Zealand in population, and covers an area of