Wellington Harbour is the large natural harbour at the southern tip of New Zealand’s North Island. New Zealand’s capital, Wellington, is on the western side of Wellington Harbour. The harbour was officially named Port Nicholson  until it assumed its current name in the 1980s.

In Māori the harbour is Te Whanganui-a-Tara (the great harbour of Tara). A Māori name for Wellington,Pōneke is often said to be a transliteration of Port Nick, although this etymology is disputed.

owards the Rimatuka hills. To the left you can see Thorndon, Mt Kaukau, and the Western Hutt hills, to the right you can see Oriental Bay, Mt Victoria, and the Eastern Hutt hills.

Wellington is the capital city and third most populous urban area of New Zealand. The urban area is situated on the southwestern tip of the country’s North Island, and lies between Cook Strait and the Rimutaka Range. It is home to 389,700 residents, with an additional 3,700 residents living in the surrounding rural areas.

The Wellington urban area is the major population centre of the southern North Island, and is the seat of the Wellington Region � which in addition to the urban area covers the Kapiti Coast and Wairarapa. The urban area includes four cities: Wellington City, on the peninsula between Cook Strait and Wellington Harbour, contains the central business district and about half of Wellington’s population; Porirua City on Porirua Harbour to the north is notable for its large M?ori and Pacific Island communities; Lower Hutt City and Upper Hutt City are largely suburban areas to the northeast, together known as the Hutt Valley.

The 2009 Mercer Quality of Living Survey ranked Wellington 12th in the world on its list