Built in 1926 by a collective effort of residents, led by Father Alipio, vicar of the village, descended from a village of Kissamos.
Architect of the temple was the ex Kythera Anastasios Logothetis, groom’s family Alikianiotikis Katzourou.
The same architect designed and supervised the construction of the bridge Keritis the entrance of the village in 1910. The bridge with three arches built a sizable kyvoplinthous.
S Alikianos established many public and private services and shops. High School, Police Station, Primary School, Kindergarten, Tutoring & Greek language, two banks, two super markets, medical center, pharmacy, dentist, restaurants, bakeries etc. in order to be able to contact officials and bystanders.
The locals are progressive, most are farmers, other artisans, businessmen or civil servants and private. The creative tension of the inhabitants of the region evidenced by the fact that from early 1930, perhaps before he had developed in sericulture processing facilities of silkworm cocoons in the district Katohori. But this was not dietirithi. In the same district there was a flour mill with waterfall (water mill). Many Alikianiotes followed and followed the scientific or technical field, even in very limited immigration in recent years. Many have his career in Greece and abroad and have excelled. Alikianiotes Athenians in 1982 founded the Cultural Association based in Athens under the name Association Alikianioton “The KANTANOLEOS.” The Association works closely with native, local authorities and cultural organizations. The management of owned offices of the Association Alikianioton “The KANTANOLEOS” are: Julian & GSeptemvriou 35, Athens, tel: 210 828 8818
The flat is Vatolakkos local department of the Municipality Mousouron and consists of 2 settlements: Vatolakkos with 751 residents and gathering dust with 17 inhabitants (2001). It is just 2 km from Alikianos and 15 km from the city of Chania.
The earliest written reference we have for the village is by Barozzi (1577) as Vatolaco. Also, the settlement referred gathering dust in the province Cydonia by Barozzi, as Sconiso.
The residents of Vatolakkos engaged in agriculture and many with livestock. The main products are citrus production (oranges, mandarins and lemons), olives elaiopoiiseos, olive oil and moustos.
Se smaller quantities produced potatoes, tomatoes, watermelons, melons and fodder plants. Processing plants operating in Vatolakkos is packing two oranges and two mills. The residential environment Vatolakkos with old stone houses, is particularly interesting, as well as that of the semi-mountainous village gathering dust, with magnificent views of the plains of Keritis.
Vatolakkos’s Square is the central church of the apostles Peter and Paul, near the clock and primary school. The church acquired its present form after several additions and renovations. The Gerola says Christian church of the apostles Peter and Paul of about 1640 near the then village. Probably this was added the youngest around 1841 and another portion in 1864. Elaborate is the steeple of the church which was built in 1874. In the village there are scattered other 8 churches and some of them as old: The Transfiguration (likely 14th-15th century). Located in the eponymous region in which, according to oral tradition was the old settlement of the village who was burned by a disastrous fire started by Dere 1827. Then the villagers were moved, the area is the village of Vatolako today. Perhaps this small church have been the main church of the village then. The church of St. George was built before ton18o century but is not known exactly when. In earlier versions, the German occupation was used as shelter by residents and older as a “secret school”. In the picture of St. George’s church can discern missiles thrown by German troops.
St. Anthony, an old chapel hidden in a valley on the road to Vatolako gathering dust. Over the door the inscription which says inter alia that the church was renovated in 1566 by Pope Nicholas Circe. He had paintings but which previously were whitewashed.
The church was host resistance groups during the German occupation. In gathering dust is also the old church of the Birth of the Virgin, near the central church of the village where the little cemetery.
According to testimonies of the residents built the Ottoman era, but it is not known exactly when. In Vatolakkos held every year the carnival, where the residents gather for the celebration of Carnival.
There is also a track moto-cross, where each year there are events involving stakeholders from all over Crete and Greece.
The Karanou mountain village is lush and interesting residential environment. The activities of the residents is an important effort to keep the population in mountainous areas.
The natural environment is characterized by two parallel canyons that lead to Mafropilioti River. One is the canyon of Borianon that starts from the village and ends at Boriana Mafropilioti River after 1800 meters.
Along there is a ruined windmill, caves, the entrances of old quarries by the attempted extraction of iron (known locally as quarries Averoff), the representation of the kiln where it previously produced charcoal and galleries by lush vegetation.
Along the route of the gorge of quince found caves, three waterfalls, the church of Agios Dimitrios, and the church of Panagia Mousourenas. The length of the canyon is 2,000 feet and is crossed by a river periodic flow, which is water from December to June. About 100 meters before the mouth of the river Mafropilioti a connection path that leads to the settlement garlic sauce. In Karanou operates the Cooperative Karanou Women
“The peasant woman” engaged in the manufacture and packaging of traditional products (food, fresh, aromatic plants), which are sold either at production or at exhibitions of traditional products. Every summer the festival cherry with the participation of the local population.
The influx of population from the wider area has supported the successful effort to preserve traditions.
Archaeological – Historical – Religious Places in Karanou.
Church of Our Lady ninth century
It is a small church that has three murals inside. Getting the right shows St George on horseback. On the opposite wall is a text in Byzantine style.
In the sanctuary of the church depicts the
It is said that there were murals around the interior, but were whitewashed by the inhabitants, to prevent sexual abuse of
Turks on the images. St. Demetrios Church 12th century
It has many wall paintings but they need maintenance. Cave testimony for 28 women
In 1866 there were two battles vagainst the Turks during the months of September and November
The district’s Koufos together with the settlement Gavranou is 2 kilometers from the headquarters of the municipality.
It is mainly overgrown orchards and olive groves.
From the abandoned village of Mouri d.d.Koufou shows the valley of Keritis and part of the city of Chania.
The springs in Koufos permanent supply used for drinking water supply and the wider region.
The municipal district of Lakki has three settlements Lakka, Askordalou and Omalou.
The pits are of interest from housing and environmental terms. Built on a slope, most houses are traditional and the newly usually follow the residential environment. The cypress forest located on the hillside below the village is crossed by the path leading to the hilltop.
The churches in DD Pits are St. Anthony, St. George and St. John Askordalo.
Each year there are two festivals in the region.
- a) the pits of St. Anthony on January 17
- b) VI Askordalou of St. John on August 29
The settlement of Askordalou located at lower altitude and connects with trails in the villages of Lakka Karanou oven and through bush and wooded areas
The settlement Omalos located on the plateau at an altitude of 1050 meters. From there began the historic “Army Mousouron” sung in rizitika songs, which previously linked the Omalos with the city of Chania.
From the edge of the plateau starts Cave Tzanis or sink or Chonos (length ~ 2.5 km), which has initiated the interest of many foreign tourists in 1865 and Speleological groups of different nationalities, who explore with organized missions since 1961 .
Took its name from the legendary chieftain of the pits Marco Tzanis or Fear (Tzanomarkos).
Distinguished for his battles against the Venetians in the late 17th century and later against the Turks. After the conquest of Crete by the Turks fled to the island of Souda and then dashed by killing the most furious of Giannitsaros empneon and fear to others hence the address as the Fear. In the region there
is a rich forest vegetation of cypress, maple, the endemic tree species Ampelitsia (Zelkova abelicea) etc. and imithamnoi and endemic herbs of Crete. After Omalos you Xyloskalo, which is the entrance of the White Mountains National Park (Samaria gorge). In the region and within the national park found the Cretan wild goat or ibex (Capra aegagrus cretica).
The archaeological excavations, and architectural and cultural heritage of other historical periods show that the area was inhabited continuously from prehistoric era. A short distance from the village Meskla remains of the fortifications of ancient Rizinias.Remarkable is the natural environment with caves, canyons and water supply sources in Chania.
The Zourva is a charming mountain village of na Meskla province Cydonia 5 km from Meskla. Built at an altitude of 570 m and the root rugged but verdant cypress cliffs of the White Mountains, has few inhabitants and now belongs to the Municipality Mousouron.
Tub, underground river in White Mountains
The tap is a rugged canyon at the gorges and caves, in Chania.The crossing takes place either through the shelter KALLERGI the Smooth or the villageZourva. Within this canyon is a cave with an underground river, the Fountain, from which it was named and the gorge. The first exploration epecheirithike during the years 1985 and 1986 with a mission of Italian students were making a field trip-mission and proceeded to stretch investigating the two tunnels, up to distance about 350 meters from each entrance.
On September 15, 2001 a group of young cavers (the Speleological Group Chania and the Speleological Club of Crete) spent the night in the cave’s entrance
and the next day, wearing diving suits to protect against water and cold, they reached the affordable end of the cave Underground river after a few hours, spending more time in the stream.
They arrived in the same places where the Italians. In describing the path after about 150 meters the cave splits and goes with two galleries that both crossed a small river. The left, after about 60 m, continues with a narrow and low fret where the cavers go into the water and sometimes crawling to a gallery height 0.50 m. The gallery goes right and that more than one hundred meters.
The total length of the route in the cave, like the Italians have said, is 700 feet.
There is great natural beauty of stalactites, especially in the first apartment, and continued small lakes, ponds, some with enough water, combined with the decor make the cave spectacular. There are very tight spaces and wider than 10 meters and except for very narrow places the ceiling height ranges from 4-6 meters. The latter explorers are planning another entrance to the springs to make the mapping, but also try channel from existing very narrow passages and may therefore be presented as a surprise to the length of the cave, after the underground river must have been the source of much higher and in some vast underground reservoir
TSIROPORGI OF THE HOLE
A steep path between the cypress trees brings us south to the beautiful placewhere there are Kissonero an old Mitato three monuments of nature, three ancient, enormous in size and height plane. Walking in there it takes about 1.15 hours but seven minutes before the cave is Kissonero “His Tsirogiorgi Hole.”
It has two entrances at an altitude of 1,000 meters.
The first is narrow and difficult lies behind it, after 20 meters, is the other one on the floor is full of animal bones. The overall shape is roughly circular and slightly convoluted with wonderful decor of stalactites, stalagmites and columns that have started to corrode after being “dry.” In some of the stalagmites are plant roots penetrate the surface floating on the ceiling like a rope or ribbons.
At the midpoint of a descent is about 12 meters and having an auxiliary rope to get to the bottom, filled with mud, which apparently lead to winter rainwater. On the west side of the cave opens up a pretty little room. The cave was under Turkish rule had fled and was hiding a Sfakianos elder who had disagreed with the syneparchiotes.
Also a few years ago twenty villagers in the region attempted to explore with lighted twigs, but threatened to suffocate from the fumes of these branches In a chamber were found 2-3 skulls and bones of wild animals surplus 80 years, as calculated. Southwest of the village Zourva Cydonia is a cave called “Telonotrypa.” Legends and stories about fees later have to do with this cave. During the German occupation in the first and second mezzanine hiding allied soldiers and rebels, and when I visited years ago there was even the wire which stretch out their clothes to dry, or where they had the antenna of the radio.
The descent within the required auxiliary rope. On the precipice Voulisma threw the rebels Mesklianoi New Year of 1944 some of the Soumperites had sent the Germans to the strike when they came from Madares to celebrate with their families. Soumperites were some, unfortunately, Cretan, Heraklion from a village that had been dressed in German uniforms and were assigned to the organized body of Sergeant Schubert.
The canyon starts from Sarakina Zourva and ends at Meskla where are the doors of the canyon with a height of about 15 m and a width of approximately 1.5 meters. The vegetation is rich and formations and caves of outstanding beauty. The stream dries up in 1-2 months time.
The gorge is quite rough because there dianoigmeno trail and the dense vegetation makes it difficult to access. During the summer and until the first autumn rains, easily traveled the distance of 200 meters to the door Orthouni
The Orthouni is mountainous village of Municipality Mousouron located at an altitude of approximately 400 meters, has 140 inhabitants (2001) and is 24 km from the city of Chania. The settlement Laggona falling in local damerisma Orthouni has 42 inhabitants (2001).
The Orthouni mentioned first by Barozzi in 1577 as Orthuni. Also referred to in subsequent censuses of the Venetians and the Egyptians (1583, 1630, 1834). In 1940 the Orthouni was located the small community with 325 residents. The locals are engaged in agriculture and animal husbandry.
The main agricultural products are olives elaiopoiiseos, citrus fruit and forage plants and secondarily produced cherries, apples, watermelons, melons, potatoes k.a. Livestock production is based on sheep and goat rearing.
The few residents remaining maintain traditional and cultural features of the site. Established cultural association of the residents called “the Lampathes”.
The area has several churches of which three are old. The Prophet Elijah was built probably at the time of Venetian rule and was renovated recently.
The church of Our Lady has been restored several times and it is unknown the exact date on which it was built, but the testimonies of the residents certainly existed during the Ottoman period. Also St. Nicholas, was built in 1887 and has a beautiful stone tower.
Each year there are four great festivals:
- On August 15 the Virgin Mary
- On December 6 St. Nicholas
- On October 28 of St. Demetrios and the Pygmy Cormorant
- On July 20 the Prophet Elijah
The Orthouni has rich vegetation and natural beauty is partly mountainous terrain landscape.
Under Moutsoudia where road leads from the village Hosti and neighborhood Gianoukiana the Orthouni, there is a spring and a very large plane with a crown that covers an area about 300 m and a remarkable monument.
In the same area is a small cave called the “Hole of Voukolies.” The cave is located in the riverbed, in a mixed forest of cypress and holly. It consists of 3 main rooms and in some places have nice decor of stalactites and stalagmites. The entrance of the cave is very small and not easily seen because of dense vegetation that surrounds it.
The Sempronas is mountainous village of Municipality Mousouron with 131 inhabitants (2001).
The earliest reference to the village is in the Venetian (1577) which states as Sebrona. It is found in the Venetian census in 1583 as Kastrofilakas Gavumera Sembrinó with 142 residents but also from the Basilicata in Sembrona in 1630 and the Ant. Trivan (Varie cose di Candia, etc) with the same name.
(Spinach St., cities and villages of Crete, 1991). Located at an altitude of 620m. and away from Chania 38 km. The houses are scattered in neighborhoods, in a small green basin dominated by chestnut and sycamore trees. The residents of Semprona mainly deal with agriculture and animal husbandry. The main products are producing chestnuts, olive oil, goat meat, milk and fodder plants.
Also grown apples, potatoes, tomatoes etc. There are three cafes which offer dishes prepared with local products.
The area has many natural springs. The water collected in a small canyon and ends in Voukolies. The river is flowing permanently, even during the summer months, the waters of sailing even trout and eels and rich riparian vegetation.
In Semprona three old churches: The small chapel of St. John the Baptist (beheading) in the neighborhood Bompoliana. The church is the 14th-15th century frescoes. Another chapel of St. John the Baptist (Genesis) is Apopigadi mountain at an altitude of 1000 meters, in a beautiful landscape, built in 1873. This part communicates with a Semprona bodied road (6 km). In this church every year festival on June 23 with a large participation of local residents, but also the wider area.
The Central Church of St. George in the village center built in 1910.
Local apartment in the City Skines Mousouron are two settlements, Skines to 611 residents and a small village with 32 inhabitants Lukewarm. The Barozzi, the Basilicata and Kastrofilakas the state Schinea by 164 residents in the 16th century. The name is probably from the plant fytonymiko lentisk (Skinos) (Spanakis, “Crete”, Vtom.)
The Skines located in a fertile region and the residents are mainly engaged in agriculture and less on farming. Produced mainly citrus and olive oil and other products such as potatoes, tomatoes, pears, apples, etc.
There are also several vineyards for grape production.
The processing units operating in Skines is a mill, a producer of feed and 2 traditional stills (boilers) that produce the traditional raki.
In the center of the village and across the street run numerous cafes and a restaurant. The cultural life of Skines and the broader area contributing the “Greek Skines Touring Club”, which operates within and outside the county, since 1957 and has over 200 members.
Also the institution is operating “Cultural Centre” Julian minions’ “which is housed in a modern building near the center of town where cultural events such as workshops and rural social issues, speeches, honorary events etc.
The oldest church is St. Skines Anthony (12th century). Which is located on a plain surrounded by greenery. Also old church is the St. Catherine (possibly the 15th century.) Which is located in Glebe Mesokefalas where there is an old settlement in the same period.
In Skines course there are other more modern churches such as St. Marina at Tepid, the prophet Elijah, St. Spyridon, St. Demetrios, etc.
The main church is the church Transfiguration, where every year on Aug. 6 carried the big feast. Smaller festivals are committed also to the smaller churches the day of the feast. During the German occupation Skines paid dearly for his fighting spirit.
The Germans burned the entire village on August 1, 1941 due to previous engagement, which wounded a German. The Germans destroyed the village in retaliation and characterized their estate, their territory
On the same day had been and executions in Keritis, in Alikianos, 118 residents from nearby villages and in them many Skinianon.
For Skines victims of Nazi occupation, has erected a monument beside the church. (Source: “Crete in May 1941” Special Edition – Special Haniotika News, 2000, Editors: J. Anastasakis, Vegliris L., I. Galanakis, M. Grigorakis)
The natural landscape of great beauty Skines is due to the poikoilotita. In the lowlands is characterized by crops and especially the orange and olive groves.
At higher altitudes (up to 300 meters) dominates the landscape of rich low shrub vegetation, consisting mainly of heath and arbutus, with scattered dendrylia pine.
There are also several sources is important in the region “Koutsounari – St. Anthony”, near the church. Also in “Livadaki” was the “Kavoussi” area where residents had formed appropriate to collect water in earlier days.
The oven is semi-mountainous village of D. Mousouron with 663 inhabitants (2001). Located at an altitude of 100 meters in the foothills of the White Mountains and just 16 km from the city of Chania.Mentioned by the Venetian Kastrofilakas in the year 1583, from Basilicata (Monuments Crete. History V, s.138) in 1630 and by Anton Trivan (Varie Cose di Candia, etc. p. III handwriting Bibliotheque Nationale, Paris) as Furnea.According to St. Spanaki (Towns and villages of Crete, 1991): “Situated at the head of the valley katarrytis Keritis the right bank, drowned in the green box, from the orange. “It’s the miracle of the heart and the heart of a miracle,” said one visitor. The spring bloom orange through the green foliage of, even golden oranges, fringed with white flowers, which spread its exquisite aroma to the environment.
It is a rare picture, fragrant, satisfying all the senses.
“The oven is one of the “portokalochoria” the area with large production of citrus fruits (oranges, tangerines, lemons). Significant oil production and other agricultural products like potatoes, tomatoes, eggplant, watermelons, melons, nuts, avocados, honey, etc.
Operate six (6) packers of citrus, one (1) mill, one (1) traditional alembic (pot) to produce raki.
There are cafes, grocery stores, bakeries and other commercial enterprises that reveal the vitality of the settlement and the ability to retain its residents.
Every Day is organized by the residents and the local club “the feast of floral waters” with the participation of local people and residents of the wider area.
During the celebration is distilled rosewater floral citrus and offered local delicacies.In the village are 4 churches from which St. Panteleimon and St. George are from the era of Turkish rule.On the hill are the remains of a small tower of the Ottoman era (Kule Vigla).
In the northern edge of the hills separating the furnace from the Cydonia Therisou canyon and over the village Myloniana, is the location of Fort Spilios and historic cave Chyrospilios or Ochyrospilios.The name was derived from the location of the cave which is a natural fortress and watchtower which controls the north, west and east, overlooking the plains of the oven, Alikianos, Koufos, Vatolakkos Holy and general river Keritis.
The approach to the cave are two sides of the oven or the Myloniana. This is a small cave, its importance is more on the historicity and less on physical characteristicsMany races were the forts was located in difficult times and particularly the revolutions against the Turks during the years 1866-67 and 1878. The cave gave shelter to the rebels, but became a place of martyrdom for the fighters who were trapped. (Plymakis A. The caves of Crete, 2002).
The Psathogianno is hilly district of the local municipality Mousouron located at an altitude of 150 meters and has 175 inhabitants (2001). There are two settlements in Psathogianno (Upper and Lower Psathogianno) with 111 residents and Bapiolo with 94 residents. Distance from the town of Chania 20
km from the road to Kissamos-Gerani-Loutraki-Psathogianno.The Psathogianno refers to the Venetian censuses made in the 16th century as Psatoiano or Psatogiano then had 76 people while Bapiolos first reported in the Egyptian census of 1834 as Papiólos with 6 families.The residents of Psathogianno mainly deal with agriculture and less on farming. The main products from our region are olives elaiopoiiseos, olive and citrus (oranges and lemons). In smaller quantities produced potatoes, tomatoes, watermelons and melons.In Bapiolo until recently operated a mill, which is sufficient for processing of regional products. However, closed in 2007 and is no longer any processor manufactured products.In Bapiolo are two traditional stills (boilers) that produce the traditional raki. This activity has no financial return, because the remuneration of holders of the cauldron, determined by a percentage of production. Also, the process is the traditional form of concentration and all-day feast. The “employees” are essentially the hosts of the outdoor concentration and the production is mainly used for own consumption.It is remarkable that there is no coffee shop, grocery store or any commercial enterprise in the settlements of Psathogianno.However, the hospitality can offer to treat passersby and local dishes, replenishing the lack of shops.The neighborhoods in the settlements of Psathogianno show the graphic image of the mountain Greek village, since houses are built very close together, leaving narrow alleys crossing. At higher neighborhoods the houses are built on hills overlooking the olive groves of the region.The churches in that area are:
- Agios Georgios Psathogianno, which is the central church was built during the Ottoman occupation.
- The two-aisled church of St. Fanourios and Agia Triada
- The two-aisled church of St. Irene and St. Stylianos the Bapiolo
- In the natural landscape Psathogianno determined by the hilly terrain and vegetation dominated by olive groves occupy a larger area of the