The Municipality Voukolies
The Municipality Voukolies includes the former communities Anoskeli, Voukolies, Kakopetro, Neriana, Nio Chorio Old Roumata, warlords, Tavronitis and Golden Dawn.Geographic occupies the eastern edge of Kissamos and extends along the river valley Tavronitis. In thirty four settlements of the twelve villages of the municipality of 3,500 people who live mainly engaged in agriculture and animal husbandry.
Flagship product is the precious oil, known for its beneficial properties.
Even a big production of chestnuts, dairy products, meat, wine, honey, vegetables, figs, nuts, fruits and vegetables. It is thus a unique puzzle of natural beauty area 76 000 acres.
The terrain-flat, hilly and mountainous, is seductive and it remains unforgettable to every visitor.
The traditional component dominates the beautiful neighborhoods of settlements and in harmony with some modern touches those found in lowland villages.
The residents are people friendly, pleasant and offer visitors with joy their hospitality.
City History Geometric period
East Valley of the cave lies the fertile basin of the river Tavronitis and pass torrent Nterianou. Current indications lead to the assumption that the sea would cover a portion of the valley.
The broad scope is actually made up of four bowls, one in three northern and the southern part.
The first, the lower reaches of Tavronitis and Nterianou is the only lowland. The southern boundary runs from Anoskeli (341 m) to the west, the media and Voukolies Kafouros (370 m), reaching heights of 407 and 369 meters north of the Sella (375 m) east .
With its fertile soil is likely to meet the needs of the population of an autonomous village, offering self-sufficiency, and has also exit to the sea. Others are small, hilly, surrounded by tall mountains that impede movement, essentially dependent on the north. Leaking from the upper reaches of Tavronitis (Old rum), the torrent Semproniotiko Lagos (Sempronas) and Nteriano (Derry, New rum).
The existence of all these running waters would ensure that community water and irrigation of fields, enriching the soil with silt, while the relief would contribute to more effective control of the region, suggesting a further reason installation here.
Arom the total area of this residential unit, archaeological remains have been found only in places “Pygmy Cormorant” and “Sfaka” (about 350 m, the distance between them), southeast of the village Gavalomouri.These seven chamber tombs carved in reddish local stone, of which five were virtually destroyed and only two (v.4 and 5) in relatively good condition.Architecture is similar to others found in the province of Kissamos, and had a length of 1-2 m road and oval or irregular chamber dug in the rock (usually full of stones). The original dating from the early Tzedakis mainly 8th century. Has been reviewed by Andreadaki – Vlazaki, as we will discuss in detail later.
The findings vary: pottery, black glaze, single-handled, hemispherical cups, two bowls and a Beetle, introduced probably by the cycle (Athens), an amphora, with a strong influence of the Dodecanese in the art decoration and engraved letter W in the rim, which is the oldest example of writing the first millennium of the county, suggestive perhaps of the artist, and an iron spearhead and sword, bronze rings, buckle and pin, beads of faience, terracotta figurines Mounted woman with raised hands (interpreted as a goddess of children) and steer the wheels (probably game), spindle whorls and beads from the same material and approximately 26 vessels, dating to the 8th century. and earlier (when Tzedakis), or the transition from eighth to seventh century.(When Andreadaki – Vlazaki), etc.
Unfortunately, the poor condition of the graves does not allow us to collect the amount of information one would expect. However, certain conclusions are possible based on archaeological evidence. Initially, it is worth noting the striking similarity in form, construction techniques, customs and grave goods among the tombs of Gavalomouri and those of other regions of the province, were recorded as above.
They are also carved in rock, with oval or irregular chamber and the street and contained few cremations or burials, with the usual offerings (weapons, jewelry, loom weights and pottery). Uniformity is an irrefutable testimony to the cultural unity in the broad area of Kissamos in the Geometric period, while the dating of the finds of Gavalomouri especially in the second half of the eighth century. the beginning of the seventh, reveals a continuation of the Geometric period in Orientalizing.
Indeed, according to comments Andreadaki-Vlazaki, some elements remain the Minoan memory, like the figurine Horseback form with upraised hands, suggesting a close link with the distant past.
In regard to economic and social situation of the dead, the image we give the offerings are quite enlightening. Numerous iron and bronze artifacts and pottery are often rich, reveal a self-sufficient community, whose members enjoyed a high standard of living, even though the findings are not objects – symbols, demonstrating the outstanding position holders in the social hierarchy.
However, the bead of faience (if not a metal offerings), shows that even those citizens who did not belong to aristocratic families held a surplus product, or participating in possession and even retained the right to offer to acquire items luxury. Some even purchase them from areas outside the island (Athens, Cyclades
County or elsewhere), maintaining business ties with foreign countries, as
evidenced by the entered group of small open vessels and amphora of a tomb. Possibly, the position of territory near the end of the island, the station made the sea route linking the eastern Mediterranean coast, with mainland Greece and Italy, promoting the densification of the exchanges.Such activity was not unusual during the late eighth and early seventh century. and it seems, that even in this provincial area of western Crete, would affect the lives of average people’s socioeconomic status.The development of the Phoenician element W, maybe pagmatika witness the awakening of individual consciousness of the craftsman, as observed and Andreadaki – Vlazaki, which stems from a process of class differentiation and social recognition, syntelesmenis the narrow context of the above site. Obviously, the development of secondary and tertiary sectors of production, had its impact on socio-political developments.
Finally, it is worth noting some data, we pointed out in previous tombs of the province, as the typical location of the cemetery on a hill, bordering the residential area, the existence of the custom of burning and burial, which certainly contrasts and classifies the dead , but to suggest radical differences in religious beliefs and ideology, and an insistence on tradition, as perceived through the examination of customs and ceramics.
Source: Doctoral work of Napoleon Xifara on “Housing the Protogeometric and Geometric Crete.
The transition from the “Minoan” to “Greek” society “, presented to the Department of History – Archaeology, University of Crete, as a thesis for acquiring the title of Doctor.The settlements during the Byzantine period Voukolies
: The name is archaic Greek Voukolia = herd of steers, voustathmos. In Crete, still used today, the archaic formula with the same sense, with little change: the Voukolia or Voukoliades in Eastern Crete, Voukolia or Voukolies West, meaning the residence of the steers during the summer months.
First mentioned in a notary document of 1256 and also found a record in the manor of tourmai Kissamos. Preserved painted two churches, St. Constantine, which dates to 1452-62, St. Andrew the 13th century. and St. Athanasius the 14th-15th c. .. Etymologically, however, the name is archaic Greek and means a herd of steers.
In Crete, also known was developed farming. It is therefore logical to argue that this position is from the Byzantine era. In one version, the village is built on the site of the Minoan city or Lydia Lydeia.
Polemarchi: The settlement was mentioned during the Venetian occupation in the census of 1577, 1583, 1630. But there is speculation that it might be an installation of officers of the Byzantine army of Nicephorus Phocas and them is the name of the settlement.
: Settlement to City Voukolies. Although first mentioned in the inventory of Barozzi in 1577, the Kastrofilakas in 1583 and Basilicata in 1630, perhaps the component’s name leads to the Byzantine era. May be associated with the family of Gavalades from the 12 noblemen and perhaps refers to the 12th-13th century. But this is the case with no certainty of Byzantine occupation.Tavronitis
: Village which was first mentioned in 1322 in the ledgers of the manor tourmai Kissamos. If that is reference in 1322, it is very likely that continued existence of the settlement from the Byzantine period. Rum (Old):
Refers to three Venetian censuses, while the village was there and Venetian villa, Villa Renier. The existence of the village is very old but since it refers to a record of the manor tourmai Kissamos in the early 14th century. Here lies the single-nave church of the Virgin, painted and preserved and an inscription with the date 6868 (= 1359). Rather it is a constant presence from the second Byzantine period.
Source: Diplomatic work Fantaki John entitled “The settlements of Crete during the Second Byzantine period,” Masters “Byzantine Studies” University of Crete, Rethymnon 2001.
Since the Turkish occupation until today continues every Saturday public market (bazaar).
The village is Voukolies on a new village, which could probably be created shortly before leaving the Turks from Crete. In the Turks inhabited mainly by Turks. In 1881 even stated that he had 194 Turks and 17 Christians. Proof of establishment of the Turks in the region are the remains of Turkish lodges, located around the village in the district namely Nempros.One of these houses was provided by the community in Asia Minor refugees, currently living there. Previously, the first phase of local government in Crete (privilege Turks) and the era of the Cretan State (1898-1911) was the seat of the homonymous municipality that the municipality was renamed Dromonero, to commemorate the victory of the rebels against Abdul Pasha in June 1896.Even included a six villages now belong to the municipality Kolymbari. During the Second season of the local government has established the rural municipality with territorial Voukolies region neighboring small villages.
The data come from the work of pupils of the Lyceum Voukolies, as the professors epivlexi Alysavaki Kiki and Kouroupou Anastasia, presented in February 2005.
The Tower of Voukolies now
History of the Tower of Voukolies
The first serious attempt to liberate Crete from the Turks were trying Daskalogiannis in 1770 with painful results from the failure.
Here the revolution of 1821, the movements of 1833, the 1841 and 1858 and the great revolutions of 1866-69, 1878 and 1895.Despite the failures of the desire for freedom Cretans remains dissatisfied and a new revolutionary movement comes to confirm this.
The reason for the revolution of 1897 was given by the Turks themselves, who do not put in place the new agency in Crete (Convention Halepa) while causing the Cretans, with murders and violence. The Cretans react besieging fortresses and towers.
Decided by the Greek government under pressure from the Greek people to send Greek troops to the island. Strength 1,500 men with war material under the command of Colonel Timoleon Vassos arrives at dawn on February 2, 1897 Kolimbari, where he landed under the cheers of the assembled crowd. Arrive approximately 4,500 Cretan revolutionaries under the command of General Chief Skalidis and heads Anastasakis, Kambouri, Giannoudovardi, Batak, Markoulaki, Koumi, Loukaki, Ellinaki, Kapetanakis, Nikiforaki, Minioti and Agorastakis from Kissamos, Tsepeti, Pontikogianni, pumpkin, Blackbeard and many others from Cydonia. The regular Greek army participated Turkish-led by chieftain Smith codfish.
Following the introduction of a neutral international zone around six km from Chania, under pressure from the Great Powers decided to destroy all the forts
and towers used by the Turkish army. In the southwest of Voukolies and 600 meters. ruins of a tower built by the Turks in 1866, to allow fortified to repel the occasional revolutions broke out in the region.First choice of the destruction of the tower of Voukolies, who was among the highest in the region. Fort Army and excluded women, totaling over 1800 of the surrounding villages Ottoman Up and Down Kefalas, Mesa Voukolies, Bairaktarianon, Nemprous, Haider Voukolies and other settlements from Cydonia.On February 5, 1897 ordered mixed extract up to Platanias in the Major Konstantinidis an artillery platoon and an engineer platoon to go to Voukolies to capture the tower. With the departures of many Cretans and the company of students under the command of Captain Em. Zimvrakakidon.
The extract was opened the same day and arrived at Gavalomouri at 7:00 p.m. and after recognitions took positions around the stronghold of Voukolies. Northeast and northwest of this settled parts of the extract, while a company was launched as an ambush west. On February 6 Konstantinidis ordered siege by Cretans two companies occupied positions and the current squad of artillery took place at a distance of 1,500 meters.
After the refusal of the Turks to surrender, the artillery placed in the tower. The Cretans were many casualties because competing who will move closer to the tower. But placing the Turks to surrender seemed so sought help from the second platoon of artillery.
It sent a second platoon of artillery under the command of C. Pallis and went with them and the chief of staff I. Lympritis with the head and body Evzone Peter. The surrounding hills (Barga Mali, arbutus and the hills of Nemprous, New Village and Media Voukolies) were occupied by hundreds of Cretans, who put in the tower, while blue and white flags waved everywhere.
Since the cartridges were poorly manufactured casual rounds in Vouves, Cave and Drakona. Are also purchased, which were at high prices. Each rifleman had them on Cretan food bag for 4-5 days. Committees were set up in big villages for gathering food (bread, cheese, olives, wine). Monks of the Monastery of Gonia brought food along with their weapons. Together their Nikiforakis, Hatzidakis, Kavroulakis, Kokolinakis, Katsikoulis, Mesarchakis, Koumis and others. Also carcasses from flocks Turks transported to the Greek camp. The clashes and skirmishes were a daily occurrence, as the Turks, who had several rounds, attempting to break the siege.
The morning of February 7, the Turks, having benefited from the darkness and bad weather, were divided into brigades and others fled across the mountains to the Celery, who survived, others to Chania with the commander Fouad, where they were surrounded inKastellos by Cretan objects and rejecting proposals to surrender, continued to defend throughout the course of February 7. The Fouad was killed and the Turks surrendered.The morning of February 7 the Greek forces realized that the fort was abandoned and occupied since they found in it over 100 dead Turks. The loss of the Greeks was 15 dead and 37 wounded by Cretans, one officer dead, the lieutenant Raul Tringetas and two injured from the regular army. The first injured the regular army was the infantry officer in Napoleon Papoulias (grandfather of President of the Republic, Mr. Karolos Papoulias).The data come from the work of pupils of the Lyceum Voukolies, as the professors epivlexi Alysavaki Kiki and Kouroupou Anastasia, presented in February 2005.
The Battle of Crete
The period of the OccupationIn the provinces of Kissamos and Selino clashes between Greek and German paratroopers were in the areas:
a) Tavronitis-Kolymbari – Moni Gonia
b) Castelli – Kourfalona – Drills
c) Voukolies – Kakopetro – Floria – Canyon Kantanos
In these areas local Cretans fought only “free riders”.
Many people were killed in mass executions that followed immediately after the battle of May 1941 and throughout the duration of the occupation. Others were deported and perished in Nazi concentration camps in Germany. Others died of hunger and hardships. Whole fields were bombed and burned, while animals, farms and income requisitioned by the occupying forces.
During the occupation the Germans attempted to destroy Voukolies in retaliation for the murder of German soldiers.
But eventually the village was saved, as they say the villagers, thanks to the resistance put forward by the Greek army, and was leaving. Even mention the name of a sergeant Lazopoulos from Temenia celery, was killed in the Kouloukouthianon. Specifically, the Germans, thinking that they are dealing with a regular army and not residents of the community, left the project. Nowadays, the locals celebrate his memory on 11 May at the statue that is located in the Kouloukouthianon.
This area the Germans had installed a full military camp in an area of 100 acres, where he remained a two companies. In the camp there were stores and petrol stations in general. The entrance and exit from the village controlled by German team guard. There was also syrmatoplegmenos space for prisoners.Two advantages were Voukolianes the occupation forces to control the inhabitants of the area. Those who wanted to come from restricted areas such as Floria and Old Roumata on fairs and to visit the doctor, it was difficult to descend in Voukolies because risked immediate arrest.
On August 11, 1943 while the village was fair, one of the biggest festivals of Chania, the Germans did roadblock and arrested over 200 people who had transferred to the camp. Some of them managed to escape, while one was killed.
Anthony Pontikakis from Vouves Kissamos found within the closed Voukolies and attempting to escape were killed by German fire.During the German advance in West Celery killed George William, raised an armed resistance.
On July 24, 1944 the bunker torched in Voukolies and culprits arrested 15 residents of Old Rum.
On August 14, 1944 the Germans captured about 1,000 men and kept them prisoners in the camp. There executed Andreas Papoutsakis the Gavalomouri and were tied to a pole priest – Lionakis for three days and then was executed. Those men had identity, those who were too old or too young were released, while men aged 20 to 50 years in prison over some Hagia to execute.On Voukolies there were mass executions. In 1944 he lost in hostage Eleftherios Roussakis and in 1945 executed Antonio Hadjisavvas.For many criminal acts are responsible to Capt. Voukolies Sesna – Georg, the ypofrourarchos Kuno Graf and Sgt veterinarian Joseph Marscal, although their names are genuine and if the residents maintained properly or paraftharmena.
The data come from the work of pupils of the Lyceum Voukolies, as the professors epivlexi Alysavaki Kiki and Kouroupou Anastasia, presented in February 2005.
The Monument to Lazopoulos Kouloukouthiana
Postwar Era – The private school VoukoliesIn 1947 founded by Mr. Archontaki Anthony, retired headmaster, a private high school. Installed in the building Papoutsakis opposite the church of Christ and originally started with two classes, A and B grade.The following year was created and C class and every year worked, and even a class until it became exataxio school.
When the school was exataxio had about 150 students, boys and girls, and children gathered from the region and even from Kandanos.
The headmaster has been at pains to attract more children to create a oikoktrofeio which offered shelter and food for a small amount in children distant regions, who wanted to attend school.The internship was only male.Very early the locals realized that the school could play an important role in upgrading the site with a variety of ways. Many notable teachers and taught occasionally at the school, which offered a lot not just on knowledge but also in wider culture the children attended.
The operation of the village was connected with many social activities and events such as theatrical performances, concerts, sporting activities, which gave life to the place, but also elevates the intellectual level of the small community.
The school operated until the late 1950, when at the request of the community founded Voukolies state high school, which began as tritaxio and then became a high school Voukolies.
The data come from the work of pupils of the Lyceum Voukolies, as the professors epivlexi Alysavaki Kiki and Kouroupou Anastasia, presented in February 2005.
Roumathiani claspThis dance, which has nothing to do with the usual clasp, an evolution of ancient pyrrhic, performed only by men with erect stature go into small sturdy, rivet footwork repeated with virtuosic graceful figures low, sharp passing, without susceptibility . The dancers, with their hands tied, their bodies almost adjoining properties and go in a compact device forward or backward, and when a circle. In the evolution of dancing legs and bodies are increasingly talking and saying what they always reflect the faces.Persons in authority are more serious, decisive and a bit strained and uncomfortable.
As the brave warrior who is almost certain to win but well aware of the existence of bravery and the enemy.Slowly expressions will ease the nervousness will be gone, faded smiles will widen the lips, eyes will soothe, dancing will continue at the same rate constant, no flare, so make sure to conquer the world over, until it occurred The full contact with Mother Nature! Then his eyes would light up the calm faces, their bodies will fantaxoun more airy and legs will stop. The dance ended. The bodies were defeated, their souls were redeemed. So simple! Without the cries of hatred at the beginning of the battle, without the arrogance of victory.
The Municipality Voukolies consists of the following communities¨:
Eighteen kilometers west of Chania is the entrance to the City’s historic old metal bridge that leads to Tavronitis elegant village.The river flows Tavronitis a blue sea surrounded by a beautiful tree-lined beach. In the delta of the river has formed a natural wetland, which is a natural habitat for many species of fauna and an important station for migratory birds, flocks of which can be seen across the autumn sky in various formations. The village Tavronitis also is the only village in the municipality that is surrounded by sea, with beautiful beach of soft growth, clean and nice taverns.From here began the German invasion of Crete during the morning of May 20, 1941. After a fierce bombardment, numerous flocks of transport aircraft began to make parachute drops in Chania-Maleme. At the same time began with the landing glider airborne divisions. Ensuing fierce struggle, in which he participated in a body, the Cretan people regardless of leaf age and with meager weapons possession. During the course of the undertaking, the Germans failed to establish a small bridgehead east of the river Tavronitis and put under the control of the airport of Maleme and height 107, of which controlled the area of the airport.The beach is located 20km east Tavronitis Chania, 1km north of the village and west of the historic airport of Maleme. Named after the homonymous river.
The beach stretches in front of the village is a beautiful beach with pebbles, which is part of the vast beach starting from Kolymvari and reaches Chania. It is ideal for swimming, especially when it blows. Near the beach there are many hotels, taverns and restaurants and the beach offered almost all tourist facilities.As previously mentioned, the beach is near the airport of Maleme, where written a golden page in the Greek resistance against the Germans. Here was the famous Battle of Crete with the landing of German troops in Crete and was the first time German troops received an onslaught of local population and were incalculable losses. During the German landing, the Germans failed to establish a small bridgehead east of the river Tavronitis and put under the control of the airport of Maleme and height 107, of which controlled the area of the airport.
Bypassing the road west to Voukolies within liofytous hills meet thePolemarchi, with beautiful woods in the “lake”, where with greatactors of the village organized every year on the eve of the feast of Aghia Paraskevi traditional feast.
Moving to the mainland we find the settlement Kallithea, whose name best describes the unique way the unique views it offers,which is due to the amphitheater location. Here is the Golden Dawnto the beautiful grove of large old olive trees and the oldSchool-called the Holy Trinity-that every time a fictional namesakefestival in celebration.
Descending pass through the village of Gavalomouri the ancient to the ancient ruins of the Geometric period.
Moving the main road east from the junction of Cyril, are theNeriana. With its famous bell tower of St. John dominates, beautifulorchards and gardens
Shortly after, the Nio Chorio showing greatness Tafronitianou River, with gardens and beautiful villages. Particularly in the localityAlmond, spring bloom hundreds Sfakia (oleander) that adorn the surrounding mountains, presenting a unique beauty.
Also here we find the church of St. Nicholas with Byzantine frescoes.
Then go to Voukolies, the administrative center of the municipality, with great history and tradition that lies at the foot of the southerngrowing mountain. Here we emphasize the famous all over the island of Great Friday bazaar, whose roots start at the time of Turkish rule, and continues until today and the smallest scalebazaar Saturday held every week where you can find fresh local products. Heart of the village is the village square with tavernas and numerous cafes.
Also worthy of attention is the Byzantine church of Agios Konstantinos, dating from the 13th century and the remainsof the historic Tower of Voukolies, where in 1897 the Greek army and Cretan rebels managed a decisive victory against the Turks
Moving on Through Voukolies, pass the church of St. Athanasiusthe bizarre paintings, and climbing the villages of Kato Kefalasfound the Byzantine churches of St. Andrew and St. Photios. Belowthe village of Pano Kefalas and taking the road to Semprona,arrive in a green area of great natural beauty, with river flows in summer and winter, forming small waterfalls. From here the path of6 km was constructed with funding of LEADER. A path (FaucetMaster-Mitato Skoufidiano-Old Rum) worth to follow all nature lovers.
We continue our journey along the road to Paleochora.
First village after Voukolies is Anoskeli with beautiful olive groves,vineyards, manicured and clean settlements. Here time passesfollowing the cycle of nature, away from the hectic pace of modernlife.
The Fotakado is hilly village of Voukolies of Chania before the Kapodistrian municipalities belongs to the community Voukolies.He had 105 residents in the census of 2001 and approximately 60 residents.
Located at an altitude of 300 meters. It is rural area with significant oil production, citrus and chestnuts. Residents are also involved in viticulture, animal husbandry and apiculture, located 35 kilometers from the capital of the county and has amphitheatrical position above the valley Tavronitis.
The Fotakado neighbor:
- North of the village Voukolies which is the capital of Voukolies
- East with the head
- South to Old Roumata
- West to Zympragou
- and northwest to Anoskeli.
It has five churches with as many festivals:
- The church of Agios Dimitrios, who is the central church
- St. George.
- St. Anthony
- St. Gerasimos and
- Prophet Elissaios.
The latter temple is built on the Turkish position turret where he had become a major battle with the prevalence of Crete during the last Cretan revolt against the Turkish yoke.
The village is rough and steep at points where it crosses the river Tavronitis. It is large in size and consists of small neighborhoods to the Lagoudiana considered the central neighborhood, the Outside Village (Alimpegiana) Sapsiana, Partsaliana (desolate neighborhood), Chatziana, Swim (Maragkiana) Boultadiana (desolate neighborhood) Stafrouliana, and Branching.
Characteristic points of the village are the following: a) The trail within the central street of the village has stone sections of great interest and high value since the German occupation. b) Feature point is the area “Digenis the pâté (= push)” where according to tradition, he set a foot Digenis Akritas. The other leg stood – upon delivery-across the top of the Prophet and Elissaios eipie water from the River. Fiction of course, but it is noteworthy that a bushy mountain has a piece in the form of the foot that never sprout. c) The prophet Elisaios is a chapel which was built with stones from katedafisi Turkish fortress. During the Cretan revolution and after the famous battle and victory Dromonero the Cretans the decision was the demolition of the Turkish fortress and the construction of the church. d) the views of the valley Tavronitis is beautiful. e) the route between Voukolies – Veterans Romania through the river, passing through the area Fotakadou and stunning beauty
Continuing the trek from the road we reach the mountain ofKakopetria. A village that belongs to the Network Martyr Villages in Greece, due to the suffering of the people that passed during the second world war. The monument in the square is there to remind the old and teach the younger.
Moving east we reach the courtyard from where one starts from the most beautiful gorges in Crete.
The gorge of the courtyard, 3 kmlong, reaches the village of the municipality Deliana Kolymbari. In the gorge find permanent shelter about ten eagles coexist harmoniously with local residents and are under their protection.
The canyon Deliana – courtyard
The canyon Deliana – courtyard located 37km west of Chania.Starting from the village courtyard and leads to Deliana after 5km.The road to the canyon is easy, takes about an hour and suggested even in children as they pass through the dirt road.Characteristic of the canyon is lush vegetation with trees and chestnut trees around the creek. The best time is spring when the vegetation is at the height of the water and the river flows in abundance.
Near the courtyard you’ll see the small church of Agia Paraskevi in rock, where a big festival every year. Also worth a mention near the Deliana and Mesaflanon whether the canyon called Deliana or Mesafliano.
The fastest access from Chania in the gorge is the Deliana, while from Paleochora is the courtyard. From Deliana you can walk (uphill) to the yard and go back unless someone can pick you up from the courtyard (1 +1 hours).
In Deliana there are small restaurants, as in the neighboring village Panethimos. Also, the nearby village of Kera Line One can also visit the ruined monastery of the Virgin.
From the square Kakopetria climbing east we enter the Old Roumata, a village surrounded by mountains, is a center for creating and maintaining rich culture and a starting point and culmination of more naturalistic paths of the municipality.
The small canyon, 6 km, in the neighborhood of Leidianon starting at a secret school-church of St. George in Hamalevri and after halfway join another path, about 4 km long, starting from the Holy Kingdom Vavouledo to continue a common path leading to the golf village.The two paths, which is dominated by strong physical component and the biodiversity of the flora of the area, built with funding of LEADER. In browsing Old Roumata worth visiting the settlement cameras in the mansion of Renieri, a historic family, whose roots start at the
Venice and unique in the region has crest and dates back to the Venetian. Near the square is the old olive tree of the Old Rumi, a unique sculpture of nature. The Byzantine churches are still some of the sights: St. Basil’s and Holy Cross in Vavouledo. Of the Assumption in Perachori, St. John the Apopigadi, located in three border provinces, Kissamos, Selino and quince. After browsing the beautiful parts of the village square in the traditional taverns await every visitor to the offer genuine local cuisine, made exclusively from local ingredients. Nature gave generously to many area attractions.
The riot of colors and aromas remain unforgettable …